Story

THE STORY BEHIND THE BAGS

1 / 8

ROOTS

Be it Brasilian fishermen on their Jangadas or sailors on flying multihulls, they have one thing in common. They try to master the same force : the wind. Sailing is not only a sport, it is also a way to make a living and a way to travel.

2 / 8

SAILS

For a sailor, sails are the most essential part of their boat, it is their connection with the wind. He will never consider it as a simple object. He will keep it for many years, even out of use.

3 / 8

MATERIAL

High-tech fabrics like Carbon, Kevlar, Spectra or Polyester: anything can be used to create new objects.

We persue a tight collaboration with many sailmakers, racers and cruisers around Switzerland to collect their used sails all and bring them back to our workshop.

4 / 8

WORKSHOP

First the fabrics are carefully inspected, and cut into pieces. They are combined with other types of materials to give them strength and colours.

Our machines run tirelessly to turn those huge sails into functional and innovative objects.

Up to this day, every step of production is taking place in our workshop in Fribourg, Switzerland. Even though the brand is growing, the local and hand-made aspect of the production is very important to us.

5 / 8

PRODUCTS

Since 2008, we give to sails that led their previous owner to victory or to new horizons a second life. Our motivation is the same as the one attracting sailors on the sea : adventure, experiment new things, push limits and innovate.

6 / 8

TEAM

The first ones on bord were David and Alexandre Giovannini, two brothers which have been sailors since their earliest childhood. Year after year, new members joined the adventure and made Rondechute what it is today.

7 / 8

TO BE CONTINUED

8 / 8

Navigation

Geschichte

Die Geschichte hinter den Taschen

1 / 8

Ursprung

Ob nun die brasilianischen Fischer auf ihrer Jangada oder ambitionierte Sportsegler auf ihrem Katamaran, der Mensch versucht dieselbe Gewalt zu zähmen: den Wind. Segeln ist nicht nur ein Sport, sondern erlaubt zu reisen und Grenzen neu auszuloten.

2 / 8

Segel

Für den Seemann ist das Segel der wichtigste Teil des Bootes, seine einzige Verbindung mit dem Wind. Er wird es nie als banales Objekt betrachten können und das Segel, auch abgenutzt, während Jahren bei sich in seiner Garage aufbewahren wollen.

3 / 8

Material

High-Tech-Materien wie Karbon, Kevlar, Spectra oder Polyester eignen sich hervorragend, um Neues zu fabrizieren, seien es Taschen oder andere Produkte.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Schweizer Segelmachereien, Wettkampf- und Freizeitseglern sammeln wir das Rohmaterial in der ganzen Schweiz, um es in unsere Werkstatt zu bringen.

4 / 8

Werkstatt

Die Stoffe werden sorgfältig ausgewertet und anschliessend zugeschnitten. In einem nächsten Schritt werden sie mit anderen Materialien zusammengefügt, um ihnen Festigkeit und Farbe zu geben. Unsere Nähmaschinen rattern pausenlos, um kilometerweise Segel zu praktischen und ästhetischen Gegenständen zu verarbeiten.

Bis heute finden alle Produktionsetappen in unseren Werkstätten in Fribourg, Schweiz, statt. Obwohl Rondechute stetig wächst, ist uns dieser auf Handarbeit beruhende Esprit wichtig.

5 / 8

Produkte

Seit 2008 hauchen wir den Segeln ein neues Leben ein, welche ihre ersten Besitzer einst zu Siegen oder neuen Horizonten getragen haben.

Wir werden vom selbem Esprit angetrieben, welcher die Seeleute auf das Meer treibt: das Abenteuer und die die Lust, Neues zu erfahren und Grenzen auszuloten.

6 / 8

Besatzung

Die ersten im Boot waren die Brüder David und Alexandre Giovannini, Segler von Kindesbeinen an. Nach und nach sind zahlreiche Personen dazu gestossen und haben ihren Teil dazu beigetragen, Rondechute zu dem zu machen, was es heute ist.

7 / 8

Schiff ahoi!

8 / 8

Navigation